Seacoast Metropolitan Transportation Organization

Notices & Plans



Notice of the Rockingham Planning Commission and Strafford Regional Planning Commission Update Process for the MPO Regions Long Range Transportation Plans

The Rockingham Planning Commission and Strafford Regional Planning Commission announce their intent to update the existing Long Range Transportation Plans for the Seacoast and Salem-Plaistow-Windham Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs).

[Download Document: "Detailed Outline for Long Range Plan Scope and Timeline Presentation" (108kb PDF) ]

The Long Range Transportation Plan identifies and recommends transportation needs for the 36 community Seacoast MPO region and 9 community Salem-Plaistow-Windham MPO region over a 20 year planning horizon. This update will assess needs related to all modes of surface transportation in the regions, including driving, bicycling, walking, rail and bus transit, and rail and truck freight. The plans, when finished, will present a 20-year vision for how residents want their transportation system to function.

Copies of the existing Long Range Transportation Plans are available at the Planning Commission offices and on the websites listed with the contact information below. Copies can be sent to interested parties on request.

Two public input meetings will be held in conjunction with MPO Policy Committee meetings near the end of January to initiate the plan update process. The first will be held at the Newington Town Hall on January 25th, 2007, beginning at 7:00 pm. The second will be held at the Hampstead Town Hall on January 31st, 2007, also beginning at 7:00 pm. This focus of these kickoff events will be to discuss the update process and timeline, as well as begin to identify priority issues and concerns.

Rockingham Planning Commission

  • 156 Water Street
  • Exeter, NH 03833
  • Phone: (603) 778-0885 fax: (603) 778-9183


Strafford Regional Planning Commission

  • 2 Ridge Street, Suite 4
  • Dover, NH 03820
  • Phone: (603) 742-2523 fax: (603) 742-7986





Seacoast Metropolitan Planning Organization Communities:

Barrington * Brentwood *Brookfield * Dover * Durham * East Kingston * Epping * Exeter * Farmington * Fremont * Greenland * Hampton * Hampton Falls * Kensington * Lee * Madbury * Middleton * Milton * New Castle * New Durham * Newfields * Newington * Newmarket * North Hampton * Northwood * Nottingham * Portsmouth * Rochester * Rollinsford * Rye * Seabrook * South Hampton * Somersworth * Strafford * Stratham * University of New Hampshire * Wakefield

©2007 All Rights Reserved Seacoast Metropolitan Planning Organization