Seacoast Metropolitan Transportation Organization

About Seacoast MPO


The Seacoast Metropoitan Planning Organization (SMPO) is the three-party collaborative organization that is responsible for regional transportation planning for the NH Seacoast region. The Seacoast MPO is comprised of the Policy Committee, the Technical Advisory Committee (TAC) and Staff. Each of the thirty-six communities, which are granted membership to the MPO through their association with either Rockingham (RPC) or Strafford Regional Planning Commission (SRPC has representation on both the Policy Committee and TAC. The Seacoast MPO is staffed by planners and GIS analysts from the Rockingham and Strafford Regional Planning Commissions and is funded by the Federal Highway Administration (FHWA) and the Federal Transit Administration (FTA) , the NHDOT, and local matching revenues from member communities.

The Seacoast MPO is required to develop and maintain three key products: a Long Range Transportation Plan (the document that identifies transportation policies for the region); a Transportation Improvement Program (the list of projects that to be implemented) and a Unified Planning Work Program (the 2 year work plan and budget of the organization).


Seacoast Metropolitan Planning Organization Communities:

Barrington * Brentwood *Brookfield * Dover * Durham * East Kingston * Epping * Exeter * Farmington * Fremont * Greenland * Hampton * Hampton Falls * Kensington * Lee * Madbury * Middleton * Milton * New Castle * New Durham * Newfields * Newington * Newmarket * North Hampton * Northwood * Nottingham * Portsmouth * Rochester * Rollinsford * Rye * Seabrook * South Hampton * Somersworth * Strafford * Stratham * University of New Hampshire * Wakefield

©2007 All Rights Reserved Seacoast Metropolitan Planning Organization